Public Sector

Public Sector

Over a quarter of the workforce in Wales work for the public sector. There is a significant public sector presence in Wales on a local, national and UK-wide level.

The Welsh Government is the devolved Government for Wales.  The Welsh Government consists of The First Minister, Welsh Ministers, Deputy Ministers and the Council General.  These are supported by civil servants who work across devolved areas including health, education and the environment.

There are Welsh Government offices across Wales with key sites including Cardiff, Merthyr Tydfil, Aberystwyth and Llandudno.

The UK Government also has a strong presence in South Wales.  The headquarters of the Driver Vehicle Licensing Agency (DVLA), Companies House and the Office of National Statistics (ONS) are all based in South Wales. The ONS have recently launched its Data Science campus at its head office in Newport.  Its aim is to build world-leading expertise in data science; exploiting huge amounts of data to provide insight to government, researchers and business at a UK-wide and local level.

The UK has recently announced that a purpose built office block at the prestigious Central Square development in Cardiff will house over 4,000 public servants.  Due to open in 2020, the main occupier will be HMRC, but other UK government departments and agencies will also share the space.