International travel changes

The Welsh Government are taking immediate action to move 10 south African countries onto the red list for travel following the identification of a new coronavirus variant, which may be capable of evading the protection provided by vaccines.

The Omicron variant (also called B.1.1.529) has been linked to Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe  and Angola, Malawi, Mozambique and Zambia. These countries have moved onto the red list.

This means travellers from these destinations will not be permitted to enter Wales but must enter through a port of entry in England or Scotland and go into a managed quarantine facility for 10 days. They must also take post-arrival PCR tests on day 2 and day 8.

The UK Government have also introduced temporary and precautionary measures to prevent the spread of Omicron variant in the UK will come into force from 4am Tuesday 30 November 2021. For further information visit GOV.UK

Share this page

Print this page